Ecocide, Indigenous rights and environmental protection

Stop Ecocide: Change the Law would like to invite you to two webinars, co-hosted by

Stop Ecocide Canada and RAVEN Trust.

The purpose of this webinar series is to educate and raise awareness on using international law, and specifically a crime of ecocide, to reinforce Indigenous rights and environmental protection.

Webinar one: Crimes against Nature through the lens of Indigenous Sovereignty – Tuesday January 19th 3 pm PT | 6 pm ET | 11pm GMT

This seminar will focus on the legal assessment of how an international law of ecocide would uphold Indigenous governance and sovereignty.

  • Coast Salish lawyer Robert Morales has appeared in all levels of court including the Supreme Court of Canada. He is the lead person for the current Hul’qumi’num Treaty Group before the Inter American Commission on Human Rights.
  • Lakota Member of Parliament for Winnipeg Centre (NDP) Leah Gazan has spent her life working for human rights on the local, national, and international stage. Her recent success includes organizing and traveling across the country to push Bill C-262, the Indigenous Human Rights Act.
  • Indigenous Lawyer Merle Alexander is a member and hereditary chief of Kitasoo Xai’xais First Nation. He practices Indigenous Resource Law empowering Nations through Title and Rights affirmation, sustainable economic development and environmental conservation.
  • Cofounder Jojo Mehta of the Stop Ecocide campaign in 2017, alongside barrister and legal pioneer the late Polly Higgins, to support the establishment of ecocide as a crime at the International Criminal Court. She is also the Chair of the Stop Ecocide Foundation.

The event will be moderated by Jeffrey Nicholls, RAVEN’s board president and a member of the Raven Clan of the Tsimshian Nation. He works as a staff lawyer with Ratcliffe (Vancouver), and he is passionate about asserting and supporting Indigenous legal orders.

Click here to register for the webinar.

Webinar 2: From the Grassroots to the Courts: How criminalizing ecocide could benefit frontline defenders? Tuesday February 16th 4pm PT | 7pm ET | Midnight GMT

This webinar will feature stories from the frontlines, centred on how criminalizing ecocide could benefit Indigenous communities, land defenders and water protectors.

  • Sleydo (Molly Wickham) is a fierce spokesperson for Wet’suwet’en Nation members and their allies who are fighting the Coastal GasLink pipeline. She is passionate about governance, the health and well-being of the yin tah (territories) and the transmission of culture, language, and traditional song and dance.
  • Chief Dana TizyaTramm is the Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation’s lead voice on Arctic National Wildlife Refuge and the Porcupine caribou. These are the pristine calving grounds of the largest animal land migration on earth. The survival of the Porcupine caribou is linked to the survival of his nation, its culture and identity.
  • Melissa Mollen Dupuis is a member of the Innu community of Ekuanitshit on Quebec’s Côte-Nord. In 2012, she created with Widia Larivière the Quebec branch of the Idle No More movement. In 2014, became president of Wapikoni’s board of administrators. In 2017, Amnesty International named her Ambassador of Conscience with five other figures of Canada’s First Peoples’ movement. In 2018, she became the Boreal campaigner for the David Suzuki Foundation.

This event will be moderated by Suzanne Dhaliwal, climate justice creative, campaigner, researcher, lecturer in environmental justice and trainer in creative strategies for decolonisation.

Click here to register for this webinar.

This entry was posted in National News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.