Civil Society News

Independent Inquiry into Civil Society

The Independent Inquiry into Civil Society is funded by:

  • Barrow Cadbury Trust
  • Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation UK
  • City Bridge Trust
  • Esmée Fairbairn Foundation
  • Lankelly Chase
  • Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales
  • Paul Hamlyn Foundation.

The Inquiry published its first report last year. It is strictly independent from its funders and chaired by the chief executive of the Joseph Rowntree Foundation Julia Unwin. The inquiry aims to “provide a clear vision for the role of civil society in England over the next ten years” and “provide a road map as to how to realise these opportunities”.

Progress is reported through Civil Society Futures. It is a national conversation about how English civil society can flourish in a fast changing world. Through community events, academic research and online debate, Civil Society Futures creates a space for a much needed conversation among those involved in all forms of civic action – from informal networks to vast charities, Facebook groups to faith groups.

Charities call for action in autumn budget

NAVCA is one of the signatories on a letter to Philip Hammond, calling on him to build on the “vision” set out in the Civil Society Strategy by taking “substantive action” on dormant assets and the UK Shared Prosperity Fund. The letter has been sent in advance of the Chancellor’s autumn budget on 29 October, and suggests that the £2bn identified by the Dormant Assets Commission in 2017 should be “designated for strategic, long-term investment in civil society organisations”.

NAVCA CEO Jane Ide is one of nine charity sector leaders to have signed the letter, which is also backed by ACEVO, the Lloyds Bank Foundation and the Charity Finance Group, am

The Charity Governance Awards

The Charity Governance Awards is a not-for-profit initiative created to celebrate outstanding governance in charities both small and large. Effective governance makes a difference. There are seven categories covering every kind of charitable organisation. Shortlisted charities will be invited to an exclusive Awards Ceremony and Reception where the winners will be announced. The winning charity in each category will receive £5,000. Find out more here.

This entry was posted in National News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.